Rittersgrün

The Rittersgrün project includes the deposits Hämmerlein, Tellerhäuser (Dreiberg and Zweibach) and Breitenbrunn. Together, they represent one of the most important tin resources in the world.

In November 2019 Saxore applied for a mining licence according to §8 federal mining law (BBergG). This licence was granted in August 2020.

The mining licence area is located in the western Erzgebirge between Schwarzenberg and Oberwiesenthal.

The valuable commodities are tin, zinc, indium and iron.

Mining has been practiced in the region since the Middle Ages.

Deposits

Map basis: © Staatsbetrieb Geobasisinformation und Vermessung Sachsen (GeoSN) Presentation based on data from the Saxon State Office for Environment, Agriculture and Geology

Project Stages

Within the framework of the Exploration Licence according to §7 Federal Mining Law (BBergG) the sub-deposits Hämmerlein, Tellerhäuser, Breitenbrunn and Antonsthal were explored in the licence area " Breitenbrunn_Indo". Based on historic data the sub-deposits were re-screened, re-evaluated, re-interpreted and finally re-assessed resulting in a new resource model and processing concept. Furthermore, a channel sampling campaign was carried out for the Hämmerlein sub-deposit. The material extracted was analysed, compared with the old data and a test run was carried out in a newly designed pilot processing plant. A re-evaluation of the data showed that the Hämmerlein and Tellerhäuser sub-deposits can be classified as economically mineable at the present time. For Breitenbrunn a more detailed exploration is necessary. The Antonsthal sub-deposit is currently not economically mineable and is therefore not part of the area for which an application has been made.

Based on the exploration work just mentioned, Saxore Bergbau GmbH applied for a mining licence according to §8 BBergG in November 2019 for the mining of state-owned raw materials for the Rittersgrün area. In August 2020 the mining licence was granted. Scoping is currently being prepared. The diagram below shows the further steps in the approval process.

Exploration Licence
An exploration licence according to Federal Mining Law (§7 BBergG) gives the company the right to explore for state-owned raw materials in a defined area. It is the legal instrument for the exploration of potential raw material deposits.
Mining Licence
The mining licence according to §8 Federal Mining (BBergG) gives the company the right to explore and mine state-owned raw materials in a defined mining licence area. For this purpose, the necessary operating facilities may be constructed and operated.
Scoping
The scoping is a meeting at which the company introduces the project to the Mining Authority and the public bodies involved. The subject, scope and method of the environmental impact assessment (EIA) will then be defined. (Whether an EIA must be carried out is decided on the basis of the screening, a preliminary EIA). In most cases, the regional planning association is invited to identify any deviations from the objectives of regional planning or conflicts and to carry out a regional planning procedure with integrated target deviation procedure.
Regional Planning Procedure
The regional planning procedure is used to coordinate regional planning and measures with each other and with the requirements of regional planning. The aim is to avoid planning mistakes and to reveal planning intentions at an early stage. The legal basis in Saxony is provided by §§15 + 16 of the State Planning Act.
Life of Mine Plan
The Life of Mine Plan gives an overview of a future mining project and sets the framework for future sections to be approved by further operation plans. However, the practical work requires the approval of main operating plans, whose duration generally does not exceed two years. A Life of Mine Plan therefore offers the possibility to present a larger time frame for the project, so that the long-term development of the overall project can be evaluated in advance. In this way, possible negative influences on public safety and order and in particular on the environment can be identified, considered, avoided or compensated for at an early stage.
Environmental Impact Assessment
According to §3 Environmental Impact Assessement Act (UVPG) the environmental assessment includes the identification, description and evaluation of the significant impacts of a project, plan or programme on the objects of protection. They provide for effective environmental prevention in accordance with the applicable laws and are carried out according to consistent principles and with public participation.

Rittersgrün

Das Projekt Rittersgrün umfasst die Lagerstättenteile Hämmerlein, Tellerhäuser (Dreiberg, Zweibach) und Breitenbrunn. Diese stellen zusammengenommen eine der bedeutendsten Zinnressourcen der Welt dar.

Die Saxore hat im November 2019 einen Antrag auf Bewilligung nach §8 BBergG gestellt. Im August 2020 wurde dieser Antrag bewilligt.

Das Bewilligungsfeld befindet sich im Westerzgebirge zwischen Schwarzenberg und Oberwiesenthal.

Die Hauptwertstoffelemente sind Zinn, Zink, Indium und Eisen.

Seit dem Mittelalter wird in der Region Bergbau betrieben.

Die Lagerstätten

Kartengrundlage: © Staatsbetrieb Geobasisinformation und Vermessung Sachsen (GeoSN) Darstellung auf der Grundlage von Daten des Sächsischen Landesamtes für Umwelt, Landwirtschaft und Geologie

Die Projektphasen

Im Rahmen der bergrechtlichen Erlaubnis nach §7 BBergG wurden die Teillagerstätten Hämmerlein, Tellerhäuser, Breitenbrunn und Antonsthal im Erlaubnisfeld „Breitenbrunn_Indo“ erkundet. Die Teillagerstätten wurden anhand der verfügbaren, umfangreichen Altdaten neu gesichtet, ausgewertet, interpretiert und schließlich neu bewertet. Für eine Teillagerstätte erfolgte die Erkundung auch ganz praktisch mit Großprobennahmen und Schlitzprobennahmen unter Tage. Das untertägig gewonnene Material wurde analysiert, mit den Altdaten verglichen und ein Testbetrieb in einer neu konzipierten Pilotaufbereitungsanlage durchgeführt. Eine Neubewertung der Daten ergab, dass die Teillagerstätten Hämmerlein und Tellerhäuser zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt als wirtschaftlich gewinnbar einzustufen sind. Die Teillagerstätte Antonsthal ist aktuell nicht wirtschaftlich gewinnbar und war deshalb nicht Teil des beantragten Bewilligungsfeldes.

Basierend auf den eben genannten Erkundungsarbeiten hat die Saxore Bergbau GmbH im November 2019 einen Antrag auf Erteilung einer Bewilligung nach §8 BBergG zur Gewinnung bergfreier Bodenschätze für das Feld Rittersgrün gestellt. Dieser Antrag wurde im August 2020 bewilligt. Aktuell wird der Scopingtermin vorbereitet. In der unten stehenden Grafik sind die weiteren Schritte im Genehmigungsprozess dargestellt.

Erlaubnis
Eine bergrechtliche Erlaubnis nach §7 BBergG gibt dem Unternehmer das Recht bergfreie Bodenschätze in einem definierten Erlaubnisfeld aufzusuchen. Sie ist das rechtliche Mittel zur Erkundung von potentiellen Rohstoffvorkommen.
Bewilligung
Die Bewilligung nach §8 BBergG gibt dem Unternehmer das Recht bergfreie Bodenschätze in einem definierten Bewilligungsfeld aufzusuchen und zu gewinnen. Dazu dürfen die erforderlichen Betriebsanlagen errichtet und betrieben werden.
Scopingtermin
Der Scopingtermin ist ein Gesprächstermin, bei dem der Unternehmer dem Oberbergamt und den beteiligten Trägern öffentlicher Belange das Projekt vorstellt. Anschließend wird der Gegenstand, Umfang und Methode der Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung (UVP) festgelegt. (Ob eine UVP durchgeführt werden muss, wird auf Grundlage des Screenings, einer UVP-Vorprüfung, entschieden). Meist wird der Regional-Planungsverband beigeladen, um gegebenenfalls Abweichungen von den Zielen der Raumplanung oder Konflikte zu erkennen und ein Raumordnungsverfahren mit integriertem Zielabweichungsverfahren durchzuführen.
Raumordnungsverfahren
Das Raumordnungsverfahren dient der Abstimmung von raumbedeutsamen Planungen und Maßnahmen untereinander und mit den Erfordernissen der Raumordnung. Es sollen Fehlplanungen vermieden und Planungsabsichten schon in einem frühen Stadium offengelegt werden. Die rechtliche Grundlage bilden in Sachsen die §§15 + 16 des Landesplanungsgesetzes.
Rahmenbetriebsplan
Der Rahmenbetriebsplan gibt einen Überblick über ein künftiges Bergbauprojekt und legt den Rahmen für zukünftige, durch weitere Betriebspläne zu genehmigende Abschnitte. Die praktischen Arbeiten bedürfen aber der Zulassung von Hauptbetriebsplänen, deren Dauer in der Regel zwei Jahre nicht überschreiten. Ein Rahmenbetriebsplan bietet somit die Möglichkeit, einen größeren zeitlichen Zusammenhang des Projektes darzustellen, sodass die langfristige Entwicklung des Gesamtprojektes vorab beurteilt werden kann. Somit können eventuelle negative Einflüsse auf die öffentliche Sicherheit und Ordnung und insbesondere der Umwelt frühzeitig erkannt, berücksichtigt bzw. vermieden oder ausgeglichen werden.

Umweltverträglichkeitsprüfung
Gemäß §3 UVPG umfassen Umweltprüfungen die Ermittlung, Beschreibung und Bewertung der erheblichen Auswirkungen eines Vorhabens, Plans oder Programms auf die Schutzgüter. Sie dienen einer wirksamen Umweltvorsorge nach Maßgabe der geltenden Gesetze und werden nach einheitlichen Grundsätzen sowie unter Beteiligung der Öffentlichkeit durchgeführt.