From the Middle Ages until 1991, mining for various raw materials, including iron, tin, silver, lead, copper and uranium, took place in the region around the deposit. On the surface many dumps and historical workings from the mining activities can be found. Uranium mining during the last mining period after 1945 had the greatest impact on the region.

Hämmerlein – Tellerhäuser

Starting in 1966, several drillings were made in the Hämmerlein-Tellerhäuser area based on geophysical investigations. Uranium and tin ores were found. Until 1991 the tin deposits were geologically and technologically explored, while uranium was mined from the Tellerhäuser deposit starting in 1983.


Mica Schist

The beginning of the underground exploration of the drill tested areas was marked by the excavation of the Pöhla adit in October 1967, which reached a total length of 7,845.8 m by September 1970. At 3,000 m, the Hämmerlein skarn deposit was passed through, that contained only insignificant occurrences of uranium. With the excavation of cross-cut 2 in 1969 a rich tin mineralisation was found, which was explored from 1970 to 1981 first in Hämmerlein and then in Tellerhäuser until mine closure in 1991.


Pyroxene-Epidote-Skarn


From 1968 to 1991, 1,307.5 t of uranium were mined in the Tellerhäuser sub-deposit and 12.45 t in Hämmerlin (Schuppan&Hiller, 2012).


Pyroxene-Epidote-Skarn
Magnetite Skarn

After uranium mining was ceased in 1991, Wismut GmbH, a federal company in Saxony and Thuringia, was founded in the same year and made it its task to comprehensively remediate the regions in Saxony and Thuringia impacted by uranium mining.


Amphibole-Chlorite-Skarn

Breitenbrunn

Extensive exploration was also carried out in the Breitenbrunn sub-deposit. It took place in three stages. In 1937/1938, the deposit was explored by Sachsenerz Bergwerk AG/GmbH (SEB), from 1964 to 1967 by VEB Geologische Erforschung und Erkundung Freiberg as part of the "Eisen Breitenbrunn" (GFE) project and from 1974 to 1977 by SDAG Wismut.

 SEBGFESDAG Wismut
Amount of drillings (surface)26
2.570 m
29
3.620 m
37
-
Amount of drillings (underground)-440
7.541 m
-
Channel samples45076-
Mining infrastructureSt. Christoph mine
Fortuna mine
Upper Otto mine
Lower Otto mine
-
GeophysicsGeomagnetics--

Bereits seit dem Mittelalter bis in das Jahr 1991 fand in der Region um die Lagerstätte Bergbau auf verschiedene Rohstoffe statt, darunter Eisen, Zinn, Silber, Blei, Kupfer und Uran. An der Oberfläche sind zahlreiche Halden und Pingenzüge Zeugen dieser Bergbauaktivitäten. Am stärksten prägte der Uranbergbau der letzten Bergbauperiode nach 1945 die Region.

Hämmerlein – Tellerhäuser

Ab dem Jahr 1966 wurden auf Grundlage geophysikalischer Messungen mehrere Bohrungen im Raum Hämmerlein-Tellerhäuser niedergebracht. Dabei wurden Uran- sowie Zinnvererzungen angetroffen. Daraufhin wurden bis 1991 die Zinnlager geologisch und technologisch erkundet, während aus der Lagerstätte Tellerhäuser ab 1983 Uran gefördert wurde.


Glimmerschiefer

Der Beginn der bergmännischen Untersuchung der Bohrgebiete erfolgte durch das Auffahren des Stollens Pöhla im Oktober 1967, der bis September 1970 eine Gesamtlänge von 7.845,8 m erreichte. Bei 3.000 m wurde das Skarnlager Hämmerlein durchfahren, das nur unbedeutende Uranvorkommen aufwies. Mit dem Auffahren des Querschlag 2 im Jahr 1969 wurde eine reiche Zinnvererzung angetroffen, welche von 1970 bis 1981 zuerst in Hämmerlein und dann bis zur Grubenschließung 1991 in Tellerhäuser erkundet wurde.


Pyroxen-Epidot-Skarn


Von 1968 bis 1991 wurden in der Teillagerstätte Tellerhäuser 1.307,5 t und in Hämmerlin 12,45 t Uran gefördert (Schuppan&Hiller, 2012).


Pyroxen-Epidot-Skarn
Magnetitskarn

Nachdem der Uranbergbau 1991 eingestellt wurde, gründete sich im gleichen Jahr die Wismut GmbH, ein Unternehmen des Bundes in Sachsen und Thüringen, und machte es sich zur Aufgabe, die vom Uranerzbau geschädigten Regionen in Sachsen und Thüringen umfassend zu sanieren.


Amphibol-Chlorit-Skarn

Breitenbrunn

Auch in der Teillagerstätte Breitenbrunn fand eine umfangreiche Erkundung statt. Sie erfolgte in drei Etappen. 1937/1938 wurde die Lagerstätte durch die Sachsenerz Bergwerk AG/GmbH (SEB) erkundet, von 1964 bis 1967 durch den VEB Geologische Erforschung und Erkundung Freiberg im Rahmen des Projekts „Eisen Breitenbrunn“ (GFE) und von 1974 bis 1977 durch die SDAG Wismut.

 SEBGFESDAG Wismut
Anzahl Bohrungen (übertägig)26
2.570 m
29
3.620 m
37
-
Anzahl Bohrungen (untertägig)-440
7.541 m
-
Schlitzproben45076-
BergbauinfrastrukturGrube St. Christoph
Schrägschacht Fortuna
Oberer Ottostollen
Unterer Ottostollen
-
GeophysikGeomagnetik--