In preparation for, during and also after mining activities, environmentally relevant issues are investigated and concrete solution proposals for realisation are developed. Our goal is to minimise negative impacts on nature and the environment and to develop compensation measures at an early stage.

Measures are:

  • Surface and groundwater monitoring
  • Processing of mine, process, grey and black water
  • Utilisation of all usable mineral resources
  • Short transport distances
  • Minimisation of dust and noise emissions as well as the space required above ground (processing takes place underground)
  • Creation of compensation areas in the course of forest conversion

After completion of the raw material exploitation, the final operating plan is implemented in coordination with the Saxon Mining Authority:

  • Dismantling of all installations (underground and above ground)
  • Cancelling of mine drainage
  • Safekeeping of the accesses to the mine workings according to the planned subsequent use
  • Gradual redesign and renaturation of the waste dump, ideally complete dismantling of the waste dump
  • Continuation of the monitoring programme, in particular for the protected goods water and air, until release from mining supervision

Safety

Safety is our top priority. Mining involves some special features and also hazards. It is therefore particularly important to take appropriate measures to ensure the safety of our employees and local residents. Various laws and regulations (e.g. BBergG, ABBergV, KlimaBergV, GesBergV, StrlSchG, StrlSchV) form the basis for ensuring occupational safety in mining. To implement the legal requirements, we work closely with experts in the fields of radiation protection and mine rescue, among others.

Radon

What is Radon?

Radon is a natural, colourless and odourless inert gas. It is about seven times heavier than air (1.3 g/l) and thus the heaviest gas (9.73 g/l). Radon is formed during the radioactive decay of naturally occurring uranium in soils and rocks. All isotopes of radon are unstable, the most common isotope ²²Rn has a half-life of 3.8 days.

Where does Radon occur?

Radon occurs in varying concentrations everywhere in our environment. In the soil, the gas can move on in soil pores and cracks. Since radon is water-soluble, it can also occur in groundwater and surface water.

How dangerous is Radon?

Radon can damage the respiratory tract if you are exposed to too high a concentration over a long period of time. When radon decays in the lungs, substances are formed that can cause damage to lung tissue. Outdoors, radon disperses and dilutes very quickly. Indoors, without sufficient ventilation, it can accumulate and pose a hazard.

Radon and Mining

Regular control measurements are carried out to monitor radon. We plan to reduce the radon concentration at the workplace to a minimum through targeted ventilation and other technical measures such as insulating radon-contaminated pit areas.

Sources & further information:

In Vorbereitung, während und auch nach den bergbaulichen Tätigkeiten werden umweltrelevante Fragen untersucht und konkrete Lösungsvorschläge für die Realisierung entwickelt. Unser Ziel ist es, negative Einflüsse auf Natur und Umwelt zu minimieren und Kompensationsmaßnahmen frühzeitig zu erarbeiten.

Maßnahmen sind dabei:

  • Oberflächen- und Grundwassermonitoring
  • Aufbereitung von Gruben-, Prozess-, Grau-, und Schwarzwasser
  • Verwertung aller nutzbaren Bodenschätze (Begleitminerale)
  • Kurze Transportwege
  • Minimierung von Staub- und Lärmemissionen sowie des übertägigen Platzbedarfs (Aufbereitung erfolgt unter Tage)
  • Schaffung von Ausgleichsflächen im Zuge der Waldumwandlung

Nach Beendigung der Rohstoffförderung erfolgt in Abstimmung mit dem Sächsischen Oberbergamt die Durchführung des Abschlussbetriebsplanes:

  • Abbau aller Anlagen (unter und über Tage)
  • Einstellung der Grubenwasserhaltung
  • Verwahrung der Zugänge zum Grubengebäude entsprechend der geplanten Nachnutzung
  • Schrittweise Umgestaltung und Renaturierung der Abraumhalde, idealerweise kompletter Rückbau der Halde
  • Weiterführung des Monitoring-Programms, insbesondere für die Schutzgüter Wasser und Luft, bis zur Entlassung aus der Bergaufsicht

Sicherheit

Sicherheit ist unser oberstes Gebot. Der Bergbau bringt einige Besonderheiten und auch Gefahren mit sich. Daher ist es besonders wichtig entsprechende Maßnahmen zu ergreifen, um insbesondere die Sicherheit für unsere Beschäftigten sowie der Anwohnerinnen und Anwohner gewährleisten zu können. Grundlage für die Gewährleistung der Arbeitssicherheit im Bergbau sind diverse Gesetze und Verordnungen (bspw. BBergG, ABBergV, KlimaBergV, GesBergV, StrlSchG, StrlSchV). Zur Umsetzung der gesetzlichen Vorgaben arbeiten wir eng mit Fachleuten unter anderem auf den Gebieten Strahlenschutz und Grubenrettung zusammen.

Radon

Was ist Radon?

Radon ist ein natürliches, geruch- und farbloses Edelgas. Es ist ca. siebenmal schwerer als Luft (1,3 g/l) und damit das schwerste Gas (9,73 g/l). Radon entsteht beim radioaktiven Zerfall von natürlich vorkommendem Uran in Böden und Gesteinen. Alle Isotope des Radons sind instabil, das häufigste Isotop ²²²Rn hat eine Halbwertszeit von 3,8 Tagen.

Wo kommt Radon vor?

Radon kommt in unterschiedlichen Konzentrationen überall in unserer Umwelt vor. Im Boden kann sich das Gas in Bodenporen und Rissen in der Bodenluft weiterbewegen. Da Radon wasserlöslich ist, kann es auch im Grund- und Oberflächenwasser vorkommen.

Wie gefährlich ist Radon?

Radon kann die Atemwege schädigen, wenn man über einen längeren Zeitraum einer zu hohen Konzentration ausgesetzt ist. Beim Zerfall des Radons in der Lunge entstehen Stoffe, die Schäden am Lungengewebe verursachen können. Im Freien verteilt und verdünnt sich Radon sehr schnell. In Innenräumen ohne ausreichende Belüftung kann es sich sammeln und eine Gefahr darstellen.

Radon im Bergbau

Zur Radonüberwachung erfolgen regelmäßige Kontrollmessungen. Wir planen die Radonkonzentration am Arbeitsplatz durch gezielte Bewetterung und weitere technische Maßnahmen wie z. B. Abdämmung radonbelasteter Grubenbereiche auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren.

Quellen & weiterführende Informationen: